Getting Real

So its less than a week until I will start teaching. Tuesday will be my first day as a paid teacher, and on Thursday I will get to meet one of my classes for the first time (the other on Friday). I am beyond excited that this day is finally here. I have been looking forward to it for four years, four years!

Yesterday my co-teacher S and I set up our classroom for the year that is to come. We placed tables, chairs, carpets and bookshelves and yet the classroom still felt pretty empty once we were done. I know that part of the reason I am so excited for Thursday is because with the addition of children, our space will begin to come alive.

After spending the last few placements in a primary setting it seems so strange to me to not have an step by step plans or lessons written on paper but I also appreciate that the planning will come as we get to know the children and discover what interests them.

I haven’t taken any photos of our space yet but I think once we begin to see the play happening I might have more visual examples to share of what learning looks like in my classroom.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

